What's in your bag? More report on the iPad journey

As we wait again for more report from WT on exactly what (if anything) is going on, I’ll throw in my own report on my journey toward using the iPad as my end-all, be-all system for work, play and everything in between.

It’s now been over a month since I’ve been toting around my iPad Pro to work, leaving behind my laptop and most (but not all) the accessories that come with it. I guess I should mention that I’m a longtime sysadmin for a company HQ’ed in Silicon Valley with satellites in both the Bay Area and the Southland, As most of you may know, sysadmins must wear several hats, and in my case I hang mine at around six places in California. A good part of my work require that I float between all the places, requiring me to set up shop when needed, especially when doo doo hits the proverbial fan. I must also be ready to do the same at a nearby Starbucks (or Peets which I prefer) while in transit, because I always seem to get stuck in a place where LTE coverage sucks.

Though I don’t “float” every day, I must be ready to do so every day. In my early days I was also tasked with security and being younger, I thought I’d require some heavy iron, with a bag to match. I’d carry a large messenger bag filled with a 10lb laptop and all kinds of weird accessories, including a CD case and even manuals. When my wife said I look like a hobo, I downsized to a simpler laptop bag with just a Macbook Pro 15", then a 13", then an Air.