The Hunt! A keyboard story

Like some on this board, I’ve been into computers for many, many years. I started programming whe the Atari 400 was a thing, with its membrane keyboard. As such, I never really paid that much attention to keyboard ‘feel’, as I had to work with really bad at times due to necessity. I will say though that keyboard layout is something that I have taken issue with.

As a transplant from the U.S. to Japan, swapping to Japanese keyboards can be quite frustrating, with their extra keys, variable sized space bar (to fit extra keys), different shift layouts/etc. I’ve been quite frustrated with bad layouts, but often just remapped the layout to the standard US layout, ignoring other keys.

Some years ago I came across the textblade. This was when I was enamored with the idea of the Optimus Maximus and the beeraider keyboards, for their gimmicks, strange layouts, and promises of better efficiency. Fortunately, I never bought in to their claims or promises. Instead, I simply stuck with the normal keyboards that came with my office PCs (I was in the practice of building all of my home PCs, other than my Macs, and went with bargain-basement keyboards for those).
I’d end up using something like this:

Or on my Mac, I’d use:

In addition to programming, I (gasp) game a bit. Over time I became convinced that I was in need of a better keyboard for gaming, thinking that was the extent of why I’d need a better keyboard.
I picked up a Razer Orbweaver (no pic as I gave it away last night), but quickly realized it did not really enhance my gaming sessions in any way, so I left it on the shelf for years.

Moving on, I picked up a mechanical gaming keyboard… all the buzz words:

For a time it was good… but it lacked something… Though it had profiles and things, it wasn’t exactly what I was after… I realized that after over 40 years of computer use, I really wanted more from my keyboard.