Shift key for capitals

I am a self-taught typist, and for the most part, do pretty well, but I am not very “disciplined” in using the correct shift key to make capitals (for example, I will usually use my left pinky to press shift - even when doing a capital “A” for example.

Is this something that will work with the TextBlade, or am I going to have to learn the “real” way of using shift keys?

Many of our staff type this way too, using the left shift for everything. They’ve continued typing the same way on TextBlade.

Muscle memory is very powerful, and our goal with TextBlade was to leverage this fully, and make the typing experience very familiar to everyone.

TextBlade supports “forward shift”, which is a familiar feature for smartphone and tablet users. If you tap the shift key once, it will capitalize the next character you type (you can use whichever finger you are accustomed to for shifting).

This turns out to be a very fast way of getting shift. The world’s fastest typist, Sean Wrona, uses Caps Lock on a traditional keyboard instead of Shift (although he has the burden of hitting it a second time to turn it off). He found that fast sequential strikes allow him to perform better at speed than a concurent strike and hold.

More and more, our staff has been using forward shift for all capitals… not just the QAZ key.

1 Like

Would you be so kind and clarify your post a bit: when you say that TextBlade “supports” forward shift, do you mean that forward shift is simply another way to write uppercase letters, or is forward shift the only way to do it?

To put it another way: is it possible to write uppercase letters the usual way (press a letter key while holding shift)? If so, does that also work for Q, A and Z?

Oz - ok, actually a few questions in there:

Caps -

Supports traditional caps shift by holding either the left or right shift key along with the chosen letter.