Keyloggers and Signed Firmware

The recent blog post points out and reminds us of the complexity and the existence of re-writable firmware. It also mentions CRC as proof of secure data management. Well, I’m no expert but CRC just means reliable data integrity not security. Are the firmware updates pushed by WayTools cryptographically signed? If not, what prevents a hacker from pushing a malicious update into the keyboard with something like a keylogger or other sort of malware.

Based upon my reading of the blog I would guess they are not signed. A Yes or No on that would really help clear things up. Apparently Apple struggled with this since it took so long for them to allow third-party software keyboards (and then they are disabled in password fields).

3 Likes

Damn you @picree you just put put another month on the delivery date.

Valid point though and well made.

2 Likes

Lol rolanbek beat me to it

1 Like

I actually thought about this same issue. Especially with a new company like WT. You’ve got a smart Bluetooth keyboard hooked up to a smartphone with an app that communicates with the keyboard. Collecting “usage data” would be a breeze.

Sorry! At this point, another month…eh…

Picree - couple of points for you -

The CRC as we mentioned it is for perfect integrity of the image, it’s not about security.

As to security against hackers, everyone must be humble today that nothing is perfectly impregnable against hack attack. That said, there are things we do that make this very difficult to compromise in practice.

One significant hurdle is that a hacker would have to reverse engineer the very complex internal workings of 4 very dense binary files in 4 separate computers. If they disturbed any one of them, the operation would go down. So if you tried to add a key logger to the internal code in the TextBlade, you’d have to know quite a bit about it not to break its operation.