I uniquely broke my Spaceblade

I was accepted into the TREG program about 21 months ago. Since the moment the TB arrived, I can probably count on my hands the number of times I’ve used a regular keyboard. I also, in the moment of excitement, swap my layout to Colemak. I figured acclimating to two things at once would be fine, and frankly Colemak on the TB is amazing…once I got over the curve. I’ve never been (or needed to be) a super fast typer, so hitting between 50 and 80 WPM is fine.

On a regular keyboard, I never used the shortcuts for curser jumps for words/lines. I don’t even know what they are. But on the TB I don’t even have to take my fingers off the home row, and I now use curser jumps all the time. The key combinations took a couple of weeks to get used to, but they are well the effort.

As I mentioned, I’ve had the TB for about 21 months with no real issues. I’m not overly hard on my stuff and I’m a tech-geek, so while I’ve had to re-pair with devices a few times and occasionally update the firmware on the TB when there is a new version, I haven’t had to reach out to Waytools. I just hadn’t had any real problems.

Until Tuesday morning.

I got to work and when I snapped the TB together it didn’t light up. I plugged it into a USB port and it was charging, so I knew it wasn’t completely fried, but no dice on powering the keyblades. Then I notice a small crack on the front of the spaceblade.

Mild panic sets in. For the first time in 21 months I don’t have a working TextBlade. I used the app to submit an “issue” notice and try to remember what happened. The crack wasn’t there the night before (that I noticed) and I’d been using the TB.