Best mobile workstation

I couldn’t really find a better category, but I love talking tech and and still excited for TB… despite the dramatic path getting there :smile:

So i’m constantly looking for workspace upgrades. This means both at my desk, and, especially, when I travel. Fewer, more capable, more mobile devices are desired. I’m a developer, hacker (good kind), gamer, and media consumer. My friends are quite the fans of the surface, but I’m a terminal man at heart. I think the TB+an x86 Linux tablet (maybe a Jolla?) would be an awesome portable workstation.

Anyone have their perfect setup they’d like to share? I’d like to hear any and all, even if they don’t incorporate the TB. Let’s pass the time and talk tech!

1 Like

I don’t know if I would classify my setup as a “workstation”, but I love to constantly downsize the devices I have to bring when I travel for work. This is especially true when I travel internationally where I don’t want to be encumbered with a laptop for security and mass transit reasons.

For the past year, I’ve mostly relied on an 8 inch windows tablet. On my latest international trip, I got away with bringing just a Samsung Galaxy Note 4 to do my computing along with a pico projector, microUSB-hdmi cable, AC adapter, microUSB cable, bluetooth Stowaway mouse, and a folding bluetooth keyboard. This entire ensemble isn’t much larger/heavier than just the gigantic power supply that came with my work-issued laptop. The pico projector is fun to use, either for presentations or as a means of doing computing tasks on a large screen. What has allowed me to ditch the windows tablet more easily is the release of the latest beta of Office for Android. Since my work tasks are mostly centered around Word, Excel and Powerpoint, I don’t feel like I’m reliant on an actual windows machine anymore. Plus, if I do need some more serious number crunching power, I can always remotely login to my more powerful laptop using this setup.